Reflection on A Man of Humble Beginnings

Image

Did the performances go well? I think so, but a performer really never knows because you have a different experience. You know the play (especially if you’ve written it), but the audience come to it new and what you have said over and over again, they hear for the first time. John, my director, was pleased overall and felt that the the voices and the portraits were a ‘magical experience’. He’s right; I’ve heard them so often and know the actors who provided them well, that I cannot conceive what the audience might.

The feedback was good, so that’s always positive and at least more people than before know that this man Amos Sherriff is responsible for the modern city of Leicester. The campaign to get this artisan (brickmaker and bicycle maker) who could not read or write until he was twenty-two, but achieved so much first in the Salvation Army and then in the Independent Labour Party goes on. We will get him the recognition that he deserves.

The after-show discussion was interesting and well-attended. There was quite a bit of participation from the floor; again this suggests the piece was well-received.

I probably worry too much, but this project has been an obsession for me since late 2010 and I always wanted the best for it. I hope that I got this, this week.

Leave a comment